Pr. Mark Metze

​Pastor Metze began his ordained ministry with Annapolis Evangelical Lutheran upon completing a year of internship with Annapolis Lutheran. Pastor Metze studied history at the University of South Carolina before graduating from Trinity School for Ministry in Ambridge, PA with a Masters of Divinity. Before beginning seminary, Mark worked as a youth minister and camp counselor at a Christian summer camp known as Lutheridge. During seminary, Mark was trained in chaplain ministry by completing a unit of Clinical Pastoral Education. In his spare time, Mark likes to play guitar, read theology/ history, and ride his bike. He and his wife Rebecca have enjoyed the time they have spent in Annapolis and are thrilled to experience more of what the historic city has to offer. 

Pr. Emeritus


Pastor Gerald A. Miller was the first pastor of the Annapolis Evangelical Lutheran Church. Ordained in 1974, when he retired in 2015, he had served for over 40 years in Lutheran ministry. In 2017, the congregation honored him as "Pastor Emeritus.

Our Current Council




Office Administrator...Beth Trehey

Where were you born and raised?
Born in Providence RI, and grew up in

North Haven, CT. I grew up a Boston Redsox

fan but then moved to D.C. a few years ago and became a Nationals fan and a Washington Caps fan.
Tell us about your first job or favorite job?
I worked for 25 Years at ARINC.
Favorite book?
The Magnolia Story
First impression of Annapolis Lutheran?
Love the church and everyone I have met.
Best advice you ever received?
Don’t put off anything for tomorrow. Live for today!
Favorite thing to do to relax? Nats fan, Caps fan and like to swim and bike for fun.
Your favorite vacation? Key West


Music Director Emma Baker


Emma Baker is a Vermonter now residing in

Hyattsville having received a degree from the

University of Maryland where she studied viola

performance with Katherine Murdock and choral

conducting with Edward Maclary. While in school, she was one of the few instrumentalists to engage in choral conducting seminars and lessons as well as performances with the UMD Chamber Singers, a group that routinely sings for the Baltimore and National Symphonies.
Now a dedicated teacher herself, Emma works with the Preparatory Strings ensembles of both the Southern Maryland Youth Orchestra and Chorus in Leonardtown, as well as the Chesapeake Youth Symphony Orchestra here in Annapolis.
While Emma began her musical education as a string player, it was her involvement with community Messiah performances and church choirs that shaped the direction of her life and her choice to become a musician.
For that reason, along with many others, she is deeply committed to finding ways to give those musical experiences to others.

Kathy Ogle — President

Suzanne Smith — Vice President

Doug Schrader — Secretary

Jan Funkhouser — Treasurer

Melanie Schryver — Financial Secretary

Bruce Bathgate

Tom Bennett

Tim Nixon

Debbie Yatsuk

Doug Oyler

Glen Trumbower

Debbie Robinson